You can easily set Privacy levels for each of your Linked Albums, and grant Viewing and Editing permissions to each guest, to control privacy when sharing your collection.
Assigning Privacy Settings to Linked Albums
Whenever a Linked Album is added to your collection, you’ll see at the bottom of the Linked Album Edit Screen the box setting: “Who can see this album?“. Here you can set one of three levels of privacy for that Linked Album:
All Viewers - All viewers can see this Linked Album
Friends and Family - Only viewers with Private or Friends & Family permissions can view this Linked Album
Private - Only viewers with Private permissions can view this Linked Album
You can set a "Default Linked Album Privacy" level, to be applied to each new Linked Album you create, in My Account > Permissions and Preferences > Default Linked Album Privacy. Once set, this will be the default setting for each newly created Linked Album in your Collections but can be changed on an individual basis for any Linked Album.
Granting Guest Viewing and Editing Permissions
When you then share your entire collection with a person, you will give them one of three levels of Viewing Permissions and also one of three levels of Edit Permissions. The table above may convey this more clearly.
Viewing Permissions can be matched up with each type of Linked Album privacy. The terms may at first seem to read in reverse of Linked Album settings, and work as follows:
Private Permissions (unrestricted viewing) - Viewer has permission to view ALL Linked Albums in collection
Friends and Family - Viewer can view all Linked Albums except those marked "Private"
All Viewers (most restrictive viewing) - Viewer can only view Linked Albums assigned "All Viewers" permissions.
Your "Default Viewing Permissions", to be applied to each guest you invite, is entered in My Account > Permissions and Preferences > Default Viewing Permissions. Once set, this will be the default setting for each newly invited guest, but can be changed on an individual basis for any Linked Album.
The next setting is for Editing Permissions to your collection. The options are:
None - No Edit permissions are granted.
Can Add - Can add Entries and Linked Albums to your collection, and can edit items they've added, but they cannot change or delete items you or others have added.
Full Edit - The guest has full Admin-level editing permissions to your account and can add, edit and delete any item.
Your "Default Editing Permissions", to be applied to each guest you invite, is entered in My Account > Permissions and Preferences > Default Editing Permissions. Once set, this will be the default setting for each newly invited guest, but can be changed on an individual basis for any Linked Album.
The name of the "author" of a given Linked Album is shown at the bottom of the Linked Album edit box, shown below, seen when one clicks the edit pencil in the Entry on the main Collection Page.